top of page

It's Prototype Time - Mar 20th 2021


As March rolls around it’s time to start creating a prototype! I’ve done research and consulted with my mentor about what materials would be best to use when creating my product. The actual insert that I am creating will be made out of a clear plastic sheet that has about ¼ inch thickness. It is actually a plastic placemat for eating but it also works for my purpose! So my plastic placemat is the base of the palette/insert, the circular measurements on the palette will be black circular stickers. I plan in making these stickers in 1in, .75 in, and .4 in sizes. I’ve chosen these sizes because after ideating and drawing various circle sizes in different layouts I’ve concluded that these sizes provide maximum flexibility depending on how much of the desired color you want to make. I will be creating the stickers with a Cricut machine. A Cricut machine is a decal machine that is used for cutting designs into paper, felt, vinyl fabric, and many other materials. I will be using this machine to cut out stickers using black vinyl that way all the circles are the same size and I am able to eliminate human error. And the last material that I will be using in addition to the placemat and the black vinyl is clear contact paper. I will be using the contact paper in two ways. 1) I will be using the contact paper to lift the circular stickers from the original cut surface and then place them onto the plastic placemat. The purpose of using the contact paper in this fashion is to limit possible damage to the stickers due to human error and strength AND to keep the circular shape of the sticker during transfer. 2) The contact paper will be used as a sealant on the back of the palette where the stickers will lay so the stickers cannot be torn off, damaged, or affected by water when the paint is washed off the palette.

bottom of page