top of page

Research, Research, and More Research - Jan 10th 2021


Hi everyone, as we ring in the new year I have been scouring the internet for scholarly and non-scholarly articles related to the art of color mixing. As you can tell by my search history I eventually was successful, but this success did not come without its challenges. Art is a very contemporary properties of different mediums all affect each other in different ways when mixed together. And because art doesn't seem like a scientific topic, quality articles were very hard to come by. While researching I found myself turning up empty-handed when searching for "paint mixing" or just "paint" in general. I was forced to expand my search. I researched the "color wheel" as well as "chemicals found in paint" that way I can explain to my audience why certain colors mix together can create unwanted effects or 'muddy colors' as we artists call them. Topics like the "color wheel" and "color theory" can both be applied to color mixing even though it is not directly about the different substances mixing together. After countless hours of researching and combing through unreliable articles from the internet that said the same thing as the article listed before, I was able to find 6 articles that are unique and different from each other while still all revolving or relating to mixing paint and the different colors.

bottom of page